### WESTMORLAND AND FURNESS COUNCIL

# NOTICE OF ELECTION

## **Election of Councillors**

- 1. An election is to be held for Councillors for the said area(s) shown in the schedule to this Notice.
- 2. Nomination papers must be delivered to the office of the relevant Deputy Returning Officer shown in column 4 of the schedule on any date after the date of this Notice between the hours of 10am and 4pm Monday to Friday but not later than **4pm** on **Tuesday 5 April 2022**.
- 3. The latest date for delivery of notices of withdrawal of candidature is no later than 4pm on Tuesday 5 April 2022 to the office of the relevant Deputy Returning Officer shown in column 4 of the schedule.
- 4. Nomination papers may be obtained between 10am and 4pm Monday to Friday from the office of the relevant Deputy Returning Officer shown in column 4 of the schedule who, at the request of any elector, will prepare a nomination paper for signature.
- 5. If an election is contested the poll will take place on Thursday 5 May 2022.
- 6. Electors should take note that the following applications must reach the relevant Electoral Registration Officer at the address stated below by the deadline if they are to be effective for this election:
  - new applications to register by Thursday 14 April 2022.
  - new applications to vote by post or to change existing postal or proxy arrangements by **5pm** on **Tuesday 19 April 2022**.
  - new applications to vote by proxy by **5pm** on **Tuesday 26 April 2022**.
- 7. Emergency proxy votes at the election will be available for anyone who:
  - becomes ill or disabled after the deadline for proxy applications; or
  - becomes aware after the deadline that they will be unable to go to the poll on the day of election for occupational, employment or service reasons.

Such applications, which must be attested, must reach the relevant Electoral Registration Officer no later than **5pm** on **Thursday 5 May 2022**.

Electoral Registration Officer	Address	Telephone and email contact
	Town Hall,	01229 876318
Barrow-in-Furness	Duke Street,	elecreg@barrowbc.gov.uk
	Barrow-in-Furness LA14 2LD	
Eden	Town Hall,	01768 212253/212122
	Penrith	elections@eden.gov.uk
	CA11 7QF	
	South Lakeland House,	01539 793197
South Lakeland	Lowther Street,	elections@southlakeland.gov.uk
	Kendal LA9 4UQ	

#### SAM PLUM

Returning Officer Town Hall, Duke Street, Barrow-in-Furness, LA14 2LD <u>elecreg@barrowbc.gov.uk</u> 28 March 2022

### SCHEDULE TO THE NOTICE OF ELECTION

Area	Wards	Number of Councillors	Name and address of Returning Officer/Deputy Returning Officer	
Barrow	Dalton North	2	Sam Plum, Returning Officer Town Hall, Duke Street, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria LA14 2LD 01229 876318	
	Dalton South	2		
	Hawcoat and Newbarns	3		
	Old Barrow and Hindpool	3		
	Ormsgill and Parkside	3	elecreg@barrowbc.gov.uk	
	Risedale and Roosecote	3		
	Walney Island	3		
	Alston and Fellside	2	Paul Sutton	
	Appleby and Brough	2	Deputy Returning Officer Town Hall, Penrith, Cumbria CA11 7QF	
	Eamont and Shap	1		
	Eden and LWennet Vale		1768 212253/212122 elections@eden.gov.uk	
	Greystoke and Ullswater	1	<u>orodiono (godon govida</u>	
	Hesket and Lazonby	2		
	Kirkby Stephen and Tebay	2		
	Penrith North	2		
	Penrith South	2		
South	Bowness and Lyth	1	Simon McVey,	
Lakeland	Burton and Holme	1	Deputy Returning Officer Kendal Town Hall, Highgate, Kendal, Cumbria LA9 4DL 01539 793197 <u>elections@southlakeland.gov.uk</u>	
	Coniston and Hawkshead	1		
	Grange and Cartmel	3		
	High Furness	1		
	Kendal Castle	2		
	Kendal Highgate	2		
	Kendal Nether	2		
	Kendal South	2		
	Kendal Strickland and Fell	2		
	Kent Estuary	2		
	Levens and Crooklands	1		
	Low Furness	1		
	Sedbergh and Kirkby Lonsdale	2		
	Ulverston	3		
	Upper Kent	1		
	Windermere and Ambleside	3		